Daily Affirmation: Good Morning, Gorgeous

On Thursday December 7th, with my birthday six days away I went to get a helix piercing. I thought about it off an on over the last six months since I’d cut my hair. It’s a piercing that I had (a little higher) when I was 18 years old.

That piercing got infected. I don’t know if it was because of how it was pierced, the way I took care of it or the fact that my hair kept getting tangled up in the back of it. Gross! I kept it in for about two months. This picture was taken during Spring Break and I had taken the earring out by mid summer.

It took me 34 years to work up the courage to do it again. I did my research, and made an appointment for a consultation. After my consultation I asked, “Can we just do it today before I change my mind?”

In the first three pictures above I was sitting in the car outside of the Tattoo/Piercing place with immediate regret. It HURT. I wondered if the knot I could see was permanent and I didn’t know if the placement was quite right for the small hoop I want to put there when it’s healed.

I learned from the piercer that it can take 9 months to a year to heal, therefore at least 9 months before I can…

--

--

Sporadically Yours, Kenya - Writer|Web Designer

I’m a Carolina girl, by way of a northern parents and a retired military spouse. I love reading, writing, sunrise walks on the beach, plants and coffee.